Welcome on the official
Tourist Office Website
of Villedieu-les-Pôeles

 

#VilledieuTourisme

 
 

The Knights of Malta

 
 


Villedieu-les-Poêles, the first French commandery of the Knights of Malta

Villedieu-les-Poêles was founded in the XII century, or more precisely in 1130 by the Hospitaliers of the Order of Saint John of Jerusalem. Having obtained several dozen hectares in the Valley of the Sienne, from the Duke of Normandy and the King of England Henry 1st Beauclerc, the Order decided to place a Commandery in Villedieu lès Saultchevreuil.
 




These privileges created a rapid development

Different acts of which one dated 1187, shows the rapid development of the Commandery under the direction of its Commander. This development is put down to several privileges given by Henry 1st Beauclerc. Also to visit the town the stream of the river Sienne had to be crossed and was situated on one of the pilgrim routes towards the Mont Saint Michel so was another source of income for the town. Villedieu had the authorisation to organise a weekly market on a Tuesday and an annual fair. From this the Commander had the right to receive taxes on all the merchandise sold in the town. At the same time the inhabitants of the Commandery were exempt from royal taxes and of going into military service.

 

The influence of the hospitalier Knights on the town

Villedieu benefited for nearly 500 years from an independence free from religious or royal constraint, that is to say that any King, gentleman, Bishop or Curate ...... can not intervene in the town and question the decisions of the Commander, only the Pope in person. The Commandery had the right to benefit from the medical services of the hospitaliers receiving the pilgrims, the homeless and the sick under the direction of the "grand aumônier" . The protection of the hospital and the town was assured by the bourgeois military of which the Captain and the Lieutenant were chosen by the Commander.



 

Hospitaliers, Order of Saint John of Jerusalem, or the Order of Malta?

From an historic point of view, the Order of the Hospitaliers of Saint John of Jerusalem, was couramment renamed in the XVI century, the Order of Malta. After that the Order had been constraint to leave successively Saint Jean d'Acre, Cypress and Rhodes - where its sovereignty has been institutionalised - to take possession of the Isle of Malta which was conceded in 1522 by the Emperor Charles V.
 



The ceremonies of the Great Rite

From 1655 to the Revolution, the brotherhood of Saint Sacrament organised with the support of the Knights of Malta a grand procession "The Great Rite". In 1955, for its 300 anniversary, the Great Rite was reintroduced. Due to the success of the festivities of the Great Rite that it now takes place in Villedieu les Poêles every four years. The next ceremony will take place between mid-June and mid-July 2016. While awaiting this event, why not immerse yourself in the photos of the Great Rite of 2012?
Today the original mission of the Order of Malta: to welcome, nurse and save the weakest and never change anywhere throughout the world. To discover this Order, consult their website.
 
 
 

Reservation 

 
 
 

Where is Villedieu-les-Poêles 

 

Parctical information 

Picture library

Bienvenue sur le site officiel
de l'Office de Tourisme
de Villedieu Intercom

 

#VilledieuTourisme

 
 

Les Chevaliers de Malte

 
 


Villedieu-les-Poêles, première commanderie française des Chevaliers de Malte

Villedieu-les-Poêles, première commanderie française des Chevaliers de Malte
Villedieu-les-Poêles a été fondée au XIIe siècle, en 1130 plus exactement, par les Hospitaliers de l’Ordre de Saint Jean de Jérusalem. Ayant obtenu quelques dizaines d’hectares en Vallée de la Sienne, du Duc de Normanide et roi d'Angleterre Henri Ier Beauclerc, l’ordre décide d’y implanter une Commanderie : Villedieu lès Saultchevreuil.


 




 

Des privilèges pour un développement rapide


Différents actes, dont l’un daté de 1187, montrent le développement rapide de la commanderie sous la direction de son Commandeur. Ce développement s'explique par un ensemble de privilèges reçus par Henri Ier Beauclerc. En plus d'être traversée par le fleuve de la Sienne et située sur l'un des chemins de pèlerinage vers le Mont Saint Michel, Villedieu a eu l'autorisation d'organiser un marché hebdomadaire, le mardi, et une foire annuelle, ce qui entraine pour le Commandeur le droit de percevoir des taxes sur toutes les marchandises vendues en ville. De plus, les habitants de la Commanderie étaient exempts d'impôts royaux, de dîme et de service militaire.


L’influence des chevaliers hospitaliers sur la ville

Villedieu a bénéficié pendant près de 500 ans d'une indépendance temporelle, c'est à dire qu'aucun roi, seigneur, évèque, curé... ne peut intervenir dans la cité et remettre en question les décisions du Commandeur, hormis le Pape en personne. Enfin, cette Commanderie, « ayant droit de tabellionage et de sergenterie», dispose également d’un «grand aumônier» ainsi que de services médicaux et hospitaliers recevant les pèlerins, les sans-logis et les malades. La garde de l’hôpital, comme celle de la ville, est assurée par une milice bourgeoise dont le capitaine et le lieutenant étaient nommés par le Commandeur.
 

Hospitaliers, Ordre de Saint Jean de Jérusalem ou Ordre de Malte ?

Du point de vue historique, l'Ordre des Hospitaliers de Saint Jean de Jérusalem est couramment appelé Ordre de Malte à partir du XVIème siècle, après que l'Ordre eût été contraint de quitter successivement Saint Jean d'Acre, Chypre et Rhodes - où sa souveraineté avait été institutionnalisée - pour prendre possession de l'Ile de Malte qui lui avait été concédée en 1522 par l'Empereur Charles-Quint.
                                                                                                             


Les cérémonies du Grand Sacre

De 1655 à la Révolution, la conférie du Saint Sacrement organise, avec le soutien des Chevaliers de Malte, une grande procession, « Le Grand Sacre ». En 1955, pour son tricentenaire, le Grand Sacre est reconduit. C’est un succès et les festivités du Grand Sacre auront de nouveau lieu à Villedieu les Poêles tous les quatre ans. La prochaine cérémonie aura lieu le 22 mai 2016. En attendant cet évènement, nous vous invitons à consulter le site internet du Grand Sacre.
Aujourd'hui, la mission originelle de l'Ordre de Malte : accueillir, soigner et secourir les plus faibles est pus que jamais d'actualité, partout dans le monde. Pour tout découvrir de cet Ordre, n'hésitez pas à visiter leur site internet.
 
 

Réservation